Home General Fishing

Downrigger Weights

FritzFritz Posts: 253 Officer
What are you guys using for weights on your down riggers? I've got a 10 or 12 pound round ball, but the blow back is very high if I'm moving at any speed at all. Anyone using anything else or doing something different here?

To say I lack down rigger experience is somewhat of an overstatement.

Replies

• razorreilly09razorreilly09 Posts: 8,401 Admiral
    Used to use the pancake and bullet style. Also, what kind/size is your mainline on the weight? I noticed a substantial difference when I switched from mono to braid.
  • NBIJOHNNBIJOHN Posts: 58 Deckhand
    I am far from a downrigger expert, but I have been using a big planner instead of lead ball. I've seen some guys actually just run off the planner on the downrigger just like another reel. I have been setting the planer out and then using a swivel snap and real heavy rubber band to snap to the rigger line. Slides down to the planer.
  • Plane Fish nPlane Fish n Posts: 6,439 Admiral
    HI Fritz,

I use a 10lb ball weight but check this guy out....

I am going to switch as I have heard great things about it.. including much less blow back and it is about the same price (about $10 or $15 more) than a conventional lead ball.

http://www.zwingdownrigger.com/

Eric
    PLANE FISH N
  • Go MongoGo Mongo Posts: 2,107 Captain
    Looks like a good gel coat saver as well. I'm curious as to whether you have to come to a complete stop to reel it up given the resistence of the wing.
    “Every day is a new day. It is better to be lucky. But I would rather be exact. Then when luck comes you are ready.”
    ― Ernest Hemingway, The Old Man and the Sea
  • Plane Fish nPlane Fish n Posts: 6,439 Admiral
    Go Mongo wrote: »
    I'm curious as to whether you have to come to a complete stop to reel it up given the resistence of the wing.

Apparently not Dennis,

Take a look at these: