Tampa kingfish advice

hey guys so my dad just bought a 257 seafox, I’ve done bottom fishing growing up, but never caught Pelagics other than tuna in the keys. I know Tampa’s not the best for it but does any one have any advice for kingfish? Not looking for spots except for general look for this, or even pelagics in Tampa in general

Replies

• SuperMutuSuperMutu Posts: 409 Deckhand
    I’m no expert but if it were me I’d would troll with a couple lures that cover different parts of the water column. 
    Maybe an xrap 30 and something that covers that 10-20’ depth. 
    Like I said, I’m no expert.  I’ve only landed one king.  But, I’ve only targeted them one time.  I just apply similar tactics to what I would do back in Ohio, just scaled up for larger fish. 

The king i did land was on a flat lined grunt.  I’ve had them pop off several times right off the back of the Hubbard’s boat using the xrap and planer/spoon combo. 

• spdtspdt Posts: 11 Greenhorn
    I’ve had good luck floating baits 10 to 15 feet under a balloon. Caught them using live blue runners and frozen sardines. Good luck!
  • DigitalchaosDigitalchaos Posts: 73 Greenhorn
    Troll the egmont channel out toward whistler bouy fond bait find king fish . spoon behind #2 planer and diving plugs for artificial . or slow troll live bait on stinger rigs blue rumners cigar minnows thread fins large pilchards
  • trs912trs912 Posts: 156 Deckhand
    I'm definitely not an expert and I rarely target them, but I do catch them. 

Since you said you generally bottom fish - When I'm bottom fishing I toss out a bait on the flat line and occasionally catch them.  I will put out a flat line without wire for non-kings and if it gets bit through, I'll attach some wire since I know they are in the area.  I've caught them at pretty much every depth I've fished.