New to Blue Crabbing

Looking to start doing some recreational blue crab trapping in Brevard County from Melbourne to Titusville. I live in Cocoa. I have no experience, no traps, no nothing. Who would you recommend talking to and buying the 5 traps from? Would prefer to stay as local as possible. Thanks

Replies

• duckmanJRduckmanJR Posts: 19,714 AG
    You will have traps stolen...... 
    There are many roads to travel
    Many things to do.
    Knots to be unraveled
    'fore the darkness falls on you
  • Reel TealReel Teal Posts: 3,551 Captain
    edited May 2 #3
    Whenever I have set traps I'm out all night to pull them first thing and because someone will take them. We either shrimp, fish, gig or hang out to pass the time. Lee Fisher on the internet or look on craigslist or Facebook. Someone's always selling used ones
  • Flounderman3Flounderman3 Posts: 95 Greenhorn
    Unfortunately both Duck and Teal are correct. As sad as it is a few will either be stolen or left open and empty at some point after you set them if you routinely do it. I used to drop mine before a few rainy or windy days to minimize boat traffic seeing them, always worked better that way.
  • limitlesslimitless Posts: 583 Officer