Help, Shore Fishing Spots in New Smyrna Beach and Mosquito Lagoon, NEW to Fishing.

PaneraiLoverPaneraiLover New Smyrna Beach, FLPosts: 2 Greenhorn
Hello everyone,
I am pretty new to Bass and Saltwater fishing. I grew up fishing perch and pike in freshwater when I was little with barber or of the boat with my grandfather and then just gave up fishing as I got older.

Then a friend of mine send me some YouTube videos of Bass fishing in FL and I got a excited to try myself as I live on a large men-made FL lake in my development here in New Smyrna beach that is full of bass I heard. I bought a Shimano 2500 Sienna reel for $30 and Berkley Cherrywood HD 6'6 M rod for $25 on Amazon and caught a 17" bass with first cast on Texas rig with Zoom black with speckles warm, I was hooked. Spent months on and off watching and following some YouTube channels as to how to fish, lures, knots, rigs, bait, etc. While doing that I went out a few times to the real world and tried to fish St. John river canals in New Smyrna and Port Orange but no fish. We tried to go to popular parks with fishing ramps like Buena Vista Park by North Causeway, no fish. Riverside Park by South causeway, no fish for me there either. I did speak to people there fishing and they also had no luck there in general, some might say they caught 1 fish and that's it. Which was surprising to me in general. They did tell me they come here late nights, very early mornings and also catch on dead cut mullet or live shrimp with poor results. I also tried Swoop Site Boat ramp twice with also no luck, just a few bites by what seemed to be small blue on DOA fake shrim lure as half of lure was bitten off. My father in law caught tons of fish there same time 2 years ago and had no bites this time with me and he was very puzzled too.