Home Southwest General Fishing & The Outdoors

Estero Bay and Red Tide

Hi all, this is my first time posting here but I've been lurking for several years. Don't fish in Florida much since I live in Chicago. Anyway the last 2 years I've been kayak fishing Estero Bay in early March. Did horrible the first year, managed just one barely legal flounder and one sheepshead. Did a lot better last year, having discovered where they weren't the first time around lol. Caught a bunch of redfish, all in the slot except for 1 rat and 1 32" bull that kept trying to pull me into the boat channel but I finally got him in the net. Even found a honey hole for speckled trout. Had 2 days of great snook action, albeit small 22"-24" but a lot of fun. That ended  when the wind shifted to the northeast and the snook disappeared to points unknown. 

Anyway I'm going again this year but I have no idea what to expect after all the horrible red tide. Has it affected the fishing in Estero Bay much? Should I not even bother and head south towards 10,000 islands instead? I'd rather not since I'm staying in Fort Myers Beach, but I also want to catch some fish! So is Estero Bay still a viable option?

Replies

• BasstarBasstar Posts: 519 Officer
    Drifting By, your post brought back some great memories as I myself was there when you were last year and I remember those 40's degree mornings with that brutal NE wind.  I wade fish barefoot in shorts and it was all I could do to stand it until the sun came up and in fact it was warmer standing in the water than on shore.  But to now.

I haven't been there yet but a couple of friends are and thus far for them fishing has been horrible.  Whether that's Red Tide induced or weather of course I'm not certain.

Good luck with your decision and I'm interested as well to hear what any of the local anglers are finding.
  • dodger31dodger31 Ft MyersPosts: 228 Deckhand