Home Off Topic

Retiring at 63 1/2

Replies

• King_MeKing_Me Delray Beach, FLPosts: 6,615 Admiral
    Gary S said:
    Was told for years you would know when it is time. For me it was time. I got to where I hated going to work,wasn't doing my job the way it should be done. I knew it was time for me to move on and give my reins to someone else. If I still liked my job maybe I would have stayed a little longer. Have never regretted my move.

This was me.  Although I hated my job I would still be doing it today if it wasn't for a serious medical condition that forced me out.  I'm new to this but so far doing good and keeping busy.  Was hoping to work up to the age of 57 but had to get out at 54,

• Turner River TerrorTurner River Terror Posts: 8,100 Admiral
    One day I'll have a Serious Medical Condition...I just don't want it to be at Work.
    We all have to quit working one day and you just don't know when that day is. I'm not going to push it much longer.
    When you have enough money and your Bride is in a wheelchair , You start thinking.
    Killin and Grillin :grin
    One day I'll have a Serious Medical Condition...I just don't want it to be at Work.
    We all have to quit working one day and you just don't know when that day is. I'm not going to push it much longer.
    When you have enough money and your Bride is in a wheelchair , You start thinking.

When you actually face death to the near end you sure have a new perspective on life.  They gave me a small chance to live but managed to survive.  Afterwards I was so grateful I gave some of my possessions to strangers, spent half a million dollars on stupid stuff, bought 1 new PU truck, another vintage truck, another house, 15K just on Amazon Prime, gave my Harley Davidson away to my painter.  Offered to give it to my garbage man who declined as he knew I was not stable at the time.

Mind is stable now and in the end I'm happy with the new house, purchases, and new vehicles.  Now I guess I'm retired.