fish cleaning

bunkerboy222bunkerboy222 Posts: 60 Greenhorn
I am a newbie to Florida fishing and I have 2 questions to ask of the LEO's
1. Can you clean(filet) fish while on the water and do you need to retain the carcasses
2.Can you stringer a live fish say a 20" redfish which is legal and replace the fish with a 23" redfish
    and release the 20"fish
                                                   Thanks much,
                                                     Mike

Replies

• Westwall01Westwall01 Posts: 5,248 Admiral

You can clean your fish once you hit the dock and are done for the day otherwise you can be charged with failure to land fish in whole condition. This applies to all regulated species.

No you can not put a fish on a stringer and then replace it with a larger one. Once the fish is on a stringer, in your cooler, in your live well it is considered harvested (failure to immediately release).

• bunkerboy222bunkerboy222 Posts: 60 Greenhorn
    Thanks for the quick reply!
    I like the idea of cleaning the fish at the dock,it saves getting my ba#$s broke from the wife about the smell.
    As far the part about the stringer/live well goes I would rather go home empty handed than go home with a ticket with a huge fine.I love redfish but not worth it!!!!!
  • Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 4,490 Moderator
    Be advised, some ramps do not have cleaning stations and it's against county law to clean fish at the ramps that do not have them. 
    Hey Jack,
    I live in Citrus County and if I beach my boat say at Fort Island (end ramp) or Ozello is it legal.to do it on the beaches
  • One DropOne Drop Posts: 155 Deckhand
    Get yourself a cleaning station from bass pro or Cabela's.  All the fish runoff collects in a 5 gallon bucket and you'll dump that on her azaela's and she'll be double happy.  You brought home dinner without the stink and her garden will be the envy of the neighbors.   ;)