new guy, from 'up north' coming to SE florida!

well, im new to the forum but certainly not to florida, i am from ontario canada (dont hate!!) but honestly wish i was american lol been coming to florida since i was a kid (only 30 now, still young) as my grandparents have a condo in boca raton. i have been boating for a few years now and am making a dream come true by coming to back to boca raton for 2 full weeks this december and bringing my boat with me!! am super excited to get out on my own boat and do some fishing (i am an extreme firm believer in conservation catch and release). 

lately been hearing alot about the red tide situation and heard about quite a few hurricanes ripping through, just wanting to hear from some locals how the beaches have been and how the ocean and fishing has been? all information i get to hear here in ontario is just what media reports and they are usually dramatic and has me worried.

is there any tips, or special laws i should maybe know about as me being canadian i am sure we have different regulations... i do research but sometimes best advice comes from the local guys!

my boat is a 1987 four winns sundowner 225... SBC sterndrive.. not an ideal saltwater fishing boat but does good here.

i dont have bait live well built into the boat ike actual fishing boats but would a decently large cooler suffice for some life sardines or gogs? bait can be extremely expensive there and wouldnt want to waste my money on them if all they will do is just die in a cooler

Replies

• blakhawkdocblakhawkdoc Posts: 198 Deckhand