Skip to main content
Home Panhandle General Fishing & The Outdoors

Question Re: Wreck Fishing Etiquette

DrPhilDrPhil Junior MemberPosts: 2 Greenhorn
I'm new to fishing the Panhandle, so I wanted to get other's thoughts on wreck fishing etiquette. On a few occasions over the summer, I was fishing wrecks (public numbers) off PC when other boats pulled up within 30 yards and started fishing. On a couple of occasions, the other boats would circle my boat a few times within 30-50 yards looking at their bottom machines for a suitable spot. At least one of these boats was a charter captain who got pissy when I asked him not to run over my flat lines. I asked about it at a tackle shop and was told that the behavior I observed was extremely rude.

I was taught (and still believe) that it is inappropriate to move in on someone already ensconced at a fishing a spot. I know that wrecks are public domain, but it is a big ocean and there are lots of wrecks out there. On the other hand, some of these wrecks are pretty big and could probably accommodate multiple boats. 

My question: What is considered acceptable/unacceptable? How do others handle these situations? 

Thanks for your input.

Replies

• relicshunterrelicshunter Senior Member BronsonPosts: 605 Officer
    Your correct to think that is rude and inappropriate, common sense would say to stay 100 or more yards away. But it is no longer an ocean of good well manured people. The fact that one was a charter captain is not unusual either, and I've found they are the more unpleasant then the average person when you ask them to give you space. Wish it was nicer out there but it's not. Just try to stand your ground if your on fish, because moving is what they want you to do!
  • limitlesslimitless Senior Member Posts: 707 Officer