Tld 25 should there be a different strike drag setting for bottom vs trolling

I’m a newbie, new boat, new TLD 25 bottom and trolling for grouper thinking about spooling with 65lb braid.  Advice welcome. Rod Shimano Tallus 7’ MH

Replies

• Capt Dan MedinaCapt Dan Medina Posts: 624 Officer
    if your trolling for grouper, bump that up to 80 lb braid... you wont need the quantity of line for grouper trolling like you do for dolphin and other pelagics...the nice part about trolling for grouper is you generally are pulling the fish away from his hole with the forward momentum of the boat, so you dont need a locked down drag... best of luck!
    www.SaltyFishingCharters.com 33 Ft World Cat Tournament Edition Catamaran
    Offshore Fishing Charters FT Myers, Sanibel, Captiva, Cape Coral
  • bayboatmikebayboatmike Sanibel Posts: 6 Greenhorn
    Thank you!  Strike drag set should be 17lbs or less?  Can I use same set up for bottom as well?  Really appreciate your response Capt Dan!
    in my opinion, the tlds just dont have enough drag capacity to handle our bigger bottom dwellers... Can you catch them? Yes... but you are going to loose 95% of your bigger fish as you wont be able to slow them down from getting into the hole... The TLD was designed as a trolling reel that holds large capacity of line, not really designed for lock down bottom fishing... 
    Thanks again Capt Dan!  What drag capacity would you suggest for a bottom near shore grouper reel?  Again I really appreciate your responses.
    something in the mid 30 lb range at a minimum, ideally into the mid to upper 40s... I like the fin nor marquesa MA20II.. its a two speed, high gear and low gear, and puts out a ton of drag....