Where to Stay Next Week

ScottC543ScottC543 Posts: 1,301 Officer
Hello, everyone. My gf and I want to stay several nights on the beach early next week, driving down from Orlando. I'm looking for recommendations for where to stay. I'd like someplace nice, right on the beach, preferably at the best spot for me to catch a fish or two while we're there. ;-) I'm flexible as to where, and the type of accommodations, but am looking for a great beach with the sunset, shells and such for her and fishing for me. 

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Replies

• rjmckenna2005rjmckenna2005 Cape Coral, FLPosts: 10 Greenhorn
    Check out Mitchell's Sand Castles on Sanibel
  • dcrdcr Posts: 290 Deckhand
    Check out Mitchell's Sand Castles on Sanibel
    Good choice.  Any place along W. Gulf, the farther out the better.  I've been staying out there for 20 years.  Very quiet, nobody on the beach, usually good surf fishing, EXCELLENT shelling, good view of the sunset.  The price you pay is that it's not very close to the rest of civilization -- restaurants, etc, but that's why I stay there.
  • ScottC543ScottC543 Posts: 1,301 Officer
    Thanks, guys! I'll check them out. Appreciate the info.
  • TrevfishinTrevfishin Posts: 559 Officer
    check the red tide report before you go and see where it is....been bad from Boca Grande to Sarasota.
    Yeah, thanks. Those reports have me re-thinking our plans. We might head down to the Keys instead and save the Gulf coast trip for a better time.
  • ScoutboatScoutboat Posts: 1,835 Captain
    ScottC543 said:
    Yeah, thanks. Those reports have me re-thinking our plans. We might head down to the Keys instead and save the Gulf coast trip for a better time.
    I live near Englewood, the red tide problem seems to be abating.
  • ScoutboatScoutboat Posts: 1,835 Captain
    Weston Resort in Englewood may be perfect for you.  The west side faces the Gulf, the east side is near Lemon Bay.
  • mtbrider85mtbrider85 Posts: 335 Deckhand