Replacing rod guides

I have an older rod that I'd like to try and replace the guides on it.  I've never done that before and was wondering how hard it is to do.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.   Thanks

Replies

• Yeaaa_ChrisYeaaa_Chris Posts: 548 Officer
    It’s easy, need to use a form of GENTLE heat to soften up the old epoxy around the guides and carefully scrape off the old epoxy. You can usually unwind the thread and take off the whole guide at once.
    It’s very important to take it slow and not cut into the blank or use too much heat which will melt the blank. 
  • GarysmoGarysmo Posts: 431 Deckhand
    It’s easy, need to use a form of GENTLE heat to soften up the old epoxy around the guides and carefully scrape off the old epoxy. You can usually unwind the thread and take off the whole guide at once.
    It’s very important to take it slow and not cut into the blank or use too much heat which will melt the blank. 
    Some of the old epoxy and thread on the old guides is already loose so it should come off easy.  Hopefully I can put them on as easy.
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 2,939 Captain