Ga vs Fl public land

Ghostrider11bGhostrider11b Callahan, FlPosts: 15 Greenhorn
Okay so as I've stated in my few posts I am fairly new to the Florida Public land hunting. I hunted a few seasons as a guest on a buddy's club in middle Georgia with fairly successful results. Florida WMA's though, as has been heavily discussed are not as forgiving. Not having the finances for $1,500 club dues I will be looking towards the WMA's again this season. I've already placed in my application for quota hunts at a few locations both for general gun and archery seasons (Jennings, Four Creeks, and Cary for proximity reasons) but if I dont get drawn it will be the Osceola WMA most likely for me.

Keeping that in mind my question is this. As a disabled vet I literally only paid $20 for my license in florida that covers pretty much anything you can do in the state with a bow, rod or gun. But have low odds of actually seeing something this year (which wont prevent me from trying). But do I spend my time in the woods here repeatedly or being that I live 10 minutes from the Georgia border, do I spend the couple hundred dollars for a Georgia non-resident license to hunt the WMA's up there which have at least a somewhat better odds of a successful hunt? Looking for thought from people who have hunted both sides of the border WMA's (and no this isn't "where should I go" its just "which do ya'll think is a better gamble")

My motivation for hunting is both for the utter enjoyment of the tranquility of nature as well as for putting food on my family's table that isnt stuff full of more chemicals than you can count if that factors in at all.

Replies

• gritsnhuntin1gritsnhuntin1 Posts: 807 Officer