Exploring new spots - 6-2-18

trs912trs912 Posts: 49 Greenhorn
Since this is my first report, a little background.  I've been here about 3 years so I'm still learning.  I've been really lucky to have met two really good fishermen (one is Captain Bly) who have shown me soooo much.  I have a Sea Hunt 25 BR BX and usually fish with my wife (haven't been married long).  Fortunately she loves to fish and has embraced my passion.

Anyway, we have been making the run to the pipeline as often as possible.  But the gas bill is killing us.  On the way out I've been marking ledges in around 50ft of water.  We decided to do a little exploring and fish some of these marks, as well as a couple that Paul gave us.

Getting bait has been a bit challenging.  Found some around St. Pete marina and tried to chum it up with no luck.  Chased it around a bit before giving up to go to the Ft. Desoto pier.  It was spotty and deep but we managed to get enough to get us through the day (barely).  Sabikied some bigger stuff on the channel buoys but that was slow as well.  

Got out almost to the first spot we wanted to fish and got a nice show so we stopped.  Immediately began pulling in small red grouper.  When that slowed down, it was grunts, grunts, and more grunts.  Pretty much everywhere we stopped it was the same thing.  Lots and lots of undersized red grouper and even more grunts.  Not a single snapper all day.  Did catch a pretty big flounder.

Salvaged the day with this bad boy.  LOL, it looks so small in this pic.  It wasn't.

Replies

• BfiBfi Posts: 43 Greenhorn
    trs912 said:
    Since this is my first report, a little background.  I've been here about 3 years so I'm still learning.  I've been really lucky to have met two really good fishermen (one is Captain Bly) who have shown me soooo much.  I have a Sea Hunt 25 BR BX and usually fish with my wife (haven't been married long).  Fortunately she loves to fish and has embraced my passion.