The cost of hunting with a guide in florida ?

Steve_raleighSteve_raleigh Posts: 174 Deckhand
ok first I’m new to hunting life long saltwater fisherman 
until this past April in North Carolina me and a guide in North Carolina took a walk threw the woods to the edge of a farmers feild to shoot my 1st turkey 
and oh boy am I hooked 

my question is why down here in Florida do guides charge one price to go on a hunt and then a  ridiculous fee for what ever animal you’ve killed 
one outfitter I looked at on-line charges $2500 if you kill a turkey 

thats crazy 

Replies

• gladesmangladesman Posts: 1,008 Officer
    Because the marketing of the Osceola turkey as the god of all turkeys has generated the need within some hunters to pay unreal amounts of money for a trophy - I mean it's a turkey not an Elephant. All about the $$$. One day discounts may be offered to paint dot or tranquilize "Knock Out and Release" (KOR) them so as to be able to sell them more than once to those who really need one similar to CPR fishing..
  • Steve_raleighSteve_raleigh Posts: 174 Deckhand
    Gladesman so does that mean the $2500 turkeys actually belong to the outfitter and are not wild turkeys ?

ive seen the same with deer ect price to hunt then pay for what you shoot 
    I don’t think even if I won the powerball I’d shoot a turkey with a $2500 price tag on its head 
    I would rather aim high 
  • PinmanPinman Posts: 1,367 Officer
    The Osceola is one of the most difficult to harvest for a "Slam" - one of each sub-species on the continent. Partially because of the high value and limited supply of land in central and south Florida. Its also what drives the lease prices up the further you go South in the state. Limited supply. The outfitter is charging you based on all this. You are paying to be on the land with his knowledge. Not for a Turkey
  • binellishtrbinellishtr Posts: 7,793 Admiral
    S Fl has more turkeys now than ever.. thank a cougar