Hunting Public land

hjbob284hjbob284 OrlandoPosts: 1 Greenhorn
Hello everyone, I am new to the forum but have been using the website as a non-member for a while. I just recently turned 16 years old and have grown up hunting and fishing. I am huge on gun safety and know how to handle myself in the woods, I have hunted by myself for a long time now on private land. We lost our lease and I love spending time in the woods, with a rifle in my hand or not. I am looking to spend a lot of time on a few local wma's . I was wondering if anyone had any advice or general knowledge on how I should get started? thank you.

Replies

• spanglerspangler daBurgPosts: 614 Officer
    edited May 17 #2
    Hi hjbob284 and welcome!  I'm glad your not letting the loss of your lease stop you from enjoying hunting.  I think you'll enjoy WMAs and they'll surely make you a better, more skillful hunter!

I'm no expert and others will chime in to give you good advice. This is what I have done and I think has worked well for me.  I would suggest you pick 2 WMAs.  One that is non-quota (aka romp-n-stomp) and one that you have to pull a permit to hunt.  Both should be within a reasonable driving distance from you.  Learn those 2 WMAs as well as you can.

You want the non-quota, so that you can hunt at your convenience and as often as possible.  And you want a quota hunt because they are supposed to have a better success rate and quality due to limiting the pressure.  But you won't get to hunt it often.  Not nearly often enough.