Home General Fishing

changing guides on a factory rod?

wanting to experiment with microWave guides....would it be stuipd to have a set put on one of my stellar lite rods (keeping the same grip and everything) as opposed to building/buying a new rod with them already installed?

The cheapest rod i've found is a lew's rod that i'm not a big fan of...but it has the guides and is $99.99. There's another, cheaper, lew's with split winn grips that has the cheaper version of the guides on it...and it's like $70.

If i have a spare stellar just sitting around...and considering the guides are $30 themselves...would it make sense to have a set put on it instead?

Replies

• lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 3,972 Captain
    Experiment away... but I wouldn't have them on any rod that I build (and I've been building rods since 1971...). Along the way I've seen all kinds of trick gear come along then disappear without a trace... If you build a rod with those guides, how sure are you that they'll still be available when you break a guide and need a replacement? Lastly folks in the fishing tackle business are pretty good at selling stuff -I've seen the claims for those guides and I'm not sold at all about any particular advantage...
    Tight Lines
    Bob LeMay
    (954) 435-5666
  • Yeaaa_ChrisYeaaa_Chris Posts: 562 Officer
    If the rod is sitting and not seeing any use, strip it and put the guides you want on. That is whats great about building your own stuff. You get to figure out what you like and what you don't like. If you don't like them, strip them, and put something else on. Just be careful not to scratch up the blank when you are removing the guides.
  • Jack HexterJack Hexter New Port RicheyPosts: 5,012 Moderator