Red snapper count

2»

Replies

• Doc StressorDoc Stressor Homosassa, FLPosts: 2,252 Captain
    I am a trained biologist and statistician. Fisheries-independent data relevant to red snapper management would cost almost as much as cancer research if it was the only way to manage the stock. It would need a Department of Defense level budget. So data from commercial and sport fisheries is the best available science. Without it, there will be no science. Only politics. And that has resulted in nothing but fishery failures in the past. 

It's in everybody's interest to cooperate with the agencies that will make the recommendations that determine the fishery. 
  • red_snapperdatared_snapperdata destinPosts: 5 Greenhorn
    How about recreational angler weigh stations at every boat ramp and marina. Yearly fee less than a cup of java from starbucks.
  • red_snapperdatared_snapperdata destinPosts: 5 Greenhorn
    brettfitz said:
    Hi spangler. Yes, I am promoting the program. Got better ideas? I am willing to listen.
    We have a program that completes the state fish apps. We weigh your catch upon returning, no MRIP involvement just angler involvement, we validate information entered by photographing the fish. Now willing to listen because the states and feds are not!! It is expensive, yearly fee from gulf anglers $3. 

• Rich MRich M Posts: 1,014 Officer
    edited July 29 #35
    spangler said:
    It takes less than a minute to do.
    NOT MY RESPONSIBILITY!  Nor should it be.  Ridiculous!!!  Are you really expecting the general public to provide accurate data, in any kind of predictable way.  Laughs...

And really, less than a minute.. well that's debatable.  So do I do this for EVERY fish I catch?  Pinfish.  Catfish.  Where does this all end?????

Quantity and size limits works. Period.  Catch/Harvest data does not even come close to being representative of a fishery's health (or any other wildlife).  Period.