Skip to main content
Home Northeast General Fishing & The Outdoors

Trolling Motor Advice

I am currently searching for the best trolling motor for my boat. I want one that is gps controlled but I am not dead set on it automatically deploying. My boat is a Pioneer 197 Sportfish CC. The water line is right at 42” consistently from the bow deck. I have no experience and I am not biased to what brand I get. Any experinces good or bad would be helpful.

Replies

• fsu11fsu11 Senior Member JAX BeachPosts: 2,122 Captain
    i just picked up a motorguide xi5 and it has been fantastic so far. I decided to go the route of buying a refurbished trolling motor without the gps module and then purchased the gps module separately to add to it. ended up being around $1100 by doing so compared to $1500. Don't purchase from Universalmania.com I still have not heard back from them after they lost my trolling motor. And it has been two weeks. I got lucky and the base model xi5 without gps i bought came with it but it came with a regular remote, unfortunately i already had the gps module and remote waiting at my doorstep. And I cant return it now so if you want to go this route and purchase the base model and add the GPS let me know and i will make you a great deal so we can both benefit from it.
  • Sea SnakeSea Snake Senior Member Posts: 5,536 Admiral
    Can't beat a Rhodan, in my opinion....manual deploy.....but dead on lock, while in anchor.

But not cheap...I will say that.

So depends on your budget.....I have heard that the MG X15 is the closest thing to a Rhodan you can get.
    steve i have not been on a boat with a rhodan but i have fished on a boat with minn kota ipilot and now my own with xi5 and i was amazed how close it keeps you in a spot, i pulled up between two docks that were only 30 feet apart and my boat is 19' and i stayed right between them with no worries about moving.
  • BoattronicsBoattronics Senior Member Atlantic Beach, FloridaPosts: 5,222 Admiral