Fort Myers Bridges

What is there to catch around the bridges this time of year? I hear Tarpon and Drum at night is the ticket?

I am pretty new to fishing the area and am putting my time in on the water but I really dont know whats where this time of year.

Replies

• stallan54stallan54 Posts: 88 Greenhorn
    Bridges are hit or miss but you can usually find some hungry goliaths sitting at the bottom of the piers and columns. Around Punta Rassa I've heard of some tarpon but not many. Lots of catfish and possibly some jacks and pompano.
  • AndrewFLAndrewFL Posts: 53 Greenhorn
    Sharks too: lots of sharks. Get fresh bait, 7 feet of leader, 7/0 circle. Wait for incoming tide. Use relatively heavy gear to fight large shark/ current.
  • IdahojoeIdahojoe Posts: 51 Deckhand
    AndrewFL Sharks at the fort Myers bridges? There are a ton of cats around them and the entire river really. We always catch them. I want to find some decent fishing on the river between the lock and the cape coral bridge. Anyone have any ideas? I was hoping someone would chime in on the bridges. Ive been told this time of year the tarpon can be found and BIG drum like to run in that far. Ive caught snook in the river but I was hoping to find something other then cats and the occasional snook or bass. What else is in the Caloosahatchee river?
  • BinderBinder Posts: 3,877 Captain
    You can catch plenty of quality fish at any of the "Fort Myers bridges".

Are you asking for land or by boat info?
    Boat. By fort Myers bridges I mean the bridges crossing the river. The twin edison bridges, 41 and the cape coral toll bridge.

What kind of quality FISH? What time of day or year?
  • BinderBinder Posts: 3,877 Captain
    Nighttime/early morning snook fishing the cape bridge is good.

Same goes for tarpon fishing the cape bridges as well.

I haven't done any fishing up by the 41 and 75 bridges so I'd have zero clue.
  • AndrewFLAndrewFL Posts: 53 Greenhorn