Home General Fishing

Surf/Pier Combo, to many choices

BZ06BZ06 Posts: 24 Greenhorn
Hello everyone , first post here and looking forward to learning and chatting in the future. Having a tough time deciding on my first surf rod/reel set up. I have a few picked out and your feedback will be appreciated. Some information about what Im looking to do with my set up. I want to hit the beach and piers and get a set up that will let me cast out a decent distance. I want a set up that can handle heavy baits and a shark if so decide to give that a try. My location will be mainly around the gulf side near Siesta Key . Right now I have just one main rod/reel. It is a Fierce 5000 and 8ft Ugly Stick. Im still new to the saltwater.

1. Shimano Baitrunner BTR12000D Beach Runner BR1530S10CT Surf Spin Combo 10' 2pc
2. Shimano BTR8000OC /Tsunami Baitrunner OC Surf 2-Piece Spinning Combos 10'
3. PENN Spinfisher 6500 V Spinning Combo 10' rod 2pc
4. PENN Battle II 8000 Spinning Combo 10' rod 2pc
Not sure what type rods they use on the Penn
5. Daiwa BG5000/1002MH Bg Pre-Mounted Saltwater Spinning Combo 10' Surf
6. Building my own ?

Replies

• BZ06BZ06 Posts: 24 Greenhorn
    Anyone ???? I thought someone here might have experience with one of these that Im deciding on. The good and bad.
  • johnDjohnD WC FLPosts: 6,419 Admiral
  • eggystareggystar Posts: 83 Deckhand
    don't know much about surf fishing.Only advice to give you is avoid number 1and 2
    So what is the bad about 1 and 2 ? My budget is around 250 max. Im going to buy 2. Im leaning towards 3 but do not know what rod they use on that set up.
  • bluewatermafiabluewatermafia Posts: 540 Officer
    I do a lot of surf fishing on the Atlantic side, I did a little when I was living in Bradenton. All of those combos seem pretty heavy to me. I do most of my shark fishing with a fierce 5000 like you have, and an old quantum Cabo 60, both with 30# line.