Tuna Norht

HooganHoogan Posts: 522 Officer
Tuna North,

I've been servicing reels for 40 years and needless to say it all began with Penn Senators, Squidders and Jigmasters.
I think I know a thing or two about reel mechanics including the latest offerings from the Makaira to the AVET Raptor, inside and out. I will not fish a reel before I fully service it prior to its first use. I hear you push Pennn reels or offer excuses when fisherman post an issue with any brand reel and then you suggest " you should try this Penn model"
I have never heard you say: Penn really ****ed up which Penn has done increasingly so throughtout most recent years, with the Senators going overseas, the Penn Baja 113HN lack of publicity and subsequent demise, the list goes on. Most recently penn discontinued the 4.8 to 1 optional gear set for the Torque Star Drag, what an incompetent move that was.

Replies

• TunanorthTunanorth Posts: 125 Deckhand
    Hi Hoogan,
    "What's my purpose"? Wow, that's a pretty existential question.
    I am a PENN pro-staffer who has adapted to the modern social media age, and answers questions on Facebook and the various forums, in particular the ones that PENN sponsors [like this one and BD]. If PENN pays for the space, they have the right to address comments/questions.
    By far the most common questions I answer are something like: "Does reel X work with rod Y and line Z, when trying to catch [fish species].
    Retiring from the retail tackle industry after over 30 years; from the waterfront pro shop, to statewide [California], and national levels, I have a pretty broad knowledge of what sells and what doesn't [and at what price], and certainly admit that I have a "west coast" point of view and bias.
    Sorry that you don't like my posts, I try my best to give folks the most useful information possible, and I do get lots of "thank yous", and tons of additional questions via PM.