Home Fly Fishing

Tarpon at Homosassa?

Sage ManSage Man Posts: 195 Officer
I remember many, many years ago when Homosassa was a top flight destination for tarpon....world records etc. Then, for whatever reason, it fell off.

Are there tarpon there in decent numbers these days? I don't read much about tarpon fishing there anymore.

I want to take my wife and daughters scalloping down that way and wonder if it would be worth it to build in a day or two or tarpon fishing.

TIA

Replies

• sunflowersunflower osprey, floridaPosts: 685 Officer
    I have no personal experience, but I believe the season is earlier than July, which is when I believe scalloping begins.
    Mark

grace finds goodness in everything ...

• PilchardPilchard Posts: 1,373 Officer
    Homosassa has gone down hill to the point I no longer go there. I used to spend 2-4 weeks a year there tarpon fishing. Last time I went (2011) I got 4 shots in 3 days.... I can do that in my own back yard...

In it's glory days the place was amazing... Schools of tarpon everywhere you looked and they would eat any fly you put in front of them.

I'm not sure what caused the decline but the fish just don't go there like they used to.
  • Sage ManSage Man Posts: 195 Officer
    Pilchard wrote: »
    Homosassa has gone down hill to the point I no longer go there. I used to spend 2-4 weeks a year there tarpon fishing. Last time I went (2011) I got 4 shots in 3 days.... I can do that in my own back yard...

In it's glory days the place was amazing... Schools of tarpon everywhere you looked and they would eat any fly you put in front of them.

I'm not sure what caused the decline but the fish just don't go there like they used to.

Thanks...not what I wanted to hear...but thanks. When were the glory years? The 70s and 80s? or later than that.
  • PilchardPilchard Posts: 1,373 Officer
    I wasn't around to see the 70s but a few friends and acquaintances were.