Honing the TB fishery

*Sorry about the title... brain fart halfway. Was suppose to be "Honing the TB fishery"

I've got about a dozen trips under my belt since early July. It's been my first season fishing TB on the regular and I'm still learning... a lot. I do have some questions though. Kinda random

First off... Does anyone troll for Kings in the summer? I enjoy trolling as much as I do bottom fishing but after spending approximately 20hrs on the troll in waters from inside the Egmont shipping channel to 20 miles offshore, I only picked up a large Spanish Mac, not even Bonita are hitting my trolling spread. I have been trolling a mix of skirted Cigar minnows on top & with planers, large clarkspoons with planers or large trolling weights, and even bought a Yozuri Bonita in blue and purple to mix up the lineup. Trolling for Kings out of Cape Canaveral was always pretty easy with at least a knock down or two on every trip even when not in the right area just cruising. On the West Coast I seem to strike out trolling. Is the water just too warm right now? I trolled "Kingfish Alley" and the Pinellas reef yesterday for about 3hrs without a bite. I haven't found bait pods offshore like I would see on the east coast.

Second... is the grass flowing in the bay year round? I hear a lot about trolling for grouper when the water cools down in the shipping channel but with the grass all around it would appear to be a very busy task. I like to check baits every 20-30 minutes or so.. not every 2-3 minutes lol