Home East Central General Fishing & The Outdoors

My Silvery White Whale - IRL 6/23

This day off started the same way as any other weekend in the past 11 weeks. I woke up early and packed up my kayak, ready to get on the water at sunrise. I had caught a couple small tarpon at the beginning of April, and I've had complete tunnel-vision since. I studied my quarry during the week, readying any material I could get my hands on. Despite this wealth of knowledge, the next 8 trips, I went home empty handed. Jumped and lost 8 fish in a row. It was a heartbreaking stretch. One lost fish at a time, I refined my tactics. I guess by now, you can tell where this story is going.

8 AM - I'm casting the backwater creeks parallel to the mangroves, where I know juvenile tarpon are holding. They like the deep water and freshwater inflow of that area. Lord only knows what they're eating in those waters, but today it was my Yozuri Pins Minnow. As I cast around a corner, my line goes tight and the rod starts bouncing. Yozuri strikes again. With an array of panic inducing jumps and strong runs, this is the kind of fight I live for. Sitting on my 10 foot kayak, I felt like an Iditarod musher with a runaway dog. Ten minutes into the fight, the fish starts wobbling from side to side with exhaustion. I net the beast and I let out a huge sigh of relief - or maybe it was a howl. Scales shimmering from the rising sun, I felt like a king.

Maybe I'll finally take next weekend off..but you know, probably not!

Replies

• Panfishangler1Panfishangler1 Posts: 885 Officer
    Awesome report, and very pretty fish. Nice photos !
    Panfishanglersigdownsized.gif
  • avidone1avidone1 Posts: 139 Officer
    I'm looking to take my kayak up the IRL for those juvie tarpon...without giving too much away, if you could point me in the general direction I would appreciate it.
  • NSB PhotogNSB Photog Posts: 539 Officer