New to Miami, looking to fish!

sjwebb15sjwebb15 Posts: 8 Greenhorn
Hi All. I am new to both this forum and South Florida and looking to start fishing! I have done some inshore kayak fishing in Wilmington, NC and quite a bit of offshore (30-50 miles), not kayak fishing, also from Wilmington. I am pretty excited to find out there is such an active kayak fishing community in the area. That said, I have a few questions.
  1. Is there anyone fishing from the Miami area? I am in Coral Gables and would like to get my feet wet down here, before trekking further north.
  2. If anyone DOES fish out of this area, what are some good places to check out? Species found? I didn't see too much about fishing Biscayne Bay in the forums.
  3. I have a Wilderness Systems 14.5', sit-inside ocean kayak. I have the spray skirt, a rod holder, paddle holder and a comfortable pfd. Does anyone else use a sit-inside? Have any tips for setup or additional equipment?
Thanks in advance for any help!

Replies

• Android77Android77 Posts: 488 Deckhand
    No body I know uses at sit inside, but I almost always fish offshore where the seas can kick up to 3 to 5 real quick. Morningside Park has some trout in the grass flats and if you look on google earth you can find more grass flats in the bay that should hold trout. A gulp shrimp on a Cajun thunder cork and a jig head works well. Most of the offshore fishing is Ft Lauderdale north because of parking and deep water is closer. Flamingo and Everglades City are great places for inshore it's just a bit of a drive.
  • timmcollinstimmcollins Posts: 851 Officer
    Like Andy said above. Flamingo and Everglades City/Chokoloskee are a true Florida treat when the conditions are right. I would suggest a guide for the first time out.