fly line question

Mikedebi27Mikedebi27 Posts: 26 Greenhorn
I'm brand new to fly fishing and im confused about line, leader and tippet. I'm going to be fly fishing for redfish in the Tampa bay area so whats the right line, leader and also what are some good fly's. thanks.

Replies

• hooknsnookhooknsnook Posts: 63 Greenhorn
    for reds all you will need is a floating weight forward line.. my current favorite is rio out bound short..use the size rated for the rod you have.. I fish a 6wt 90% of the time.. for leader I make my own by using about 5ft of 30lb flouro dropping down to 5ft of 20lb
    as far as flies... clousers,gurglers,sliders and kwans will get the job done
  • Tom ConigliaroTom Conigliaro Posts: 3 Greenhorn
    You received very good advice from hooknsnook.i might add that you might benefit by doing a U tube searchfor "beginning fly fishing"...to get some more info and background.Good luck...fly fishing is a life long passion:)
  • Mikedebi27Mikedebi27 Posts: 26 Greenhorn
    thanks guy
  • Red-ManRed-Man Posts: 331 Deckhand
    There are a lot of good lines on the market. As hooknsnook said, Rio is pretty good. There is also Wulff, Cortland, Airflo, etc. It's mostly personal preference. For most inshore fishing, I like to use a weight forward floating 8wt. Leaders can vary in size and length depending on your targeted species, water clarity, and the wariness of the fish. On average I use a 12 ft. leader. You can purchase pre made leaders or construct your own.

Mine consist of 4 different pieces, although some people like to keep it simple and only use 2 or 3 pieces. Generally I start with the butt section (6 ft. of 40lb), then the mid section (3 ft. of 30lb), then the class tippet (1.5ft. of 16lb). At the very end I add a shock leader for abrasion resistence. It doesn't take much for trout or reds as they won't do as much damage to it. For snook I like to use 30lb. fluorocarbon.