Home Conservation Forums

Florida House Bill 703 Probable Cause

FLCoyoteFLCoyote Posts: 271 Deckhand
Governor Scott signed into law a bill effective 1 July 2016, that would require probable cause when stopping boaters for routine and very numerous safety checks. The law states that vessels that display a safety check sticker would not be stopped unless there was probable cause for the check. This is not a new idea. I've been fishing in the Panhandle since 1975 and for a good portion of those years either an FWC or Coast Guard current year safety decal would usually get you a pass on the over abundant safety checks. The problem back then was that the FWC almost never seemed to have any stickers on board. One day when the FWC was approaching my boat for the second check of the day I said to the officer "Don't even start if you don't have your safety decals" He replied You will either get a safety decal or a ticket and proceeded to check absolutely everything on my boat. I didn't get a ticket, but I still get checked so much I think I must be on the BOLO (Be On the Lookout List). I fish with some folks that tell me they never get checked and I always advise them that if they are with me they can expect to be checked and often are. A couple of years ago the Coast Guard checked me three Sundays in a row