Home Conservation Forums

Fishing Access

ZpotasZpotas Posts: 11 Greenhorn
Members,
I am a part time resident in Spring Lake, Florida and a fishing access issue is brewing in our area. The Improvement District has a resolution dating back to mid-1994 that prohibits fishing in the cannels in our area. In the past year or two, signs were posted in the water areas concerning the fishing restriction which upset many of us who enjoy the art of fishing rather than golf. The resolution has not been enforced in the 5 years I have been here.
My less than professional search tells me that resolution 94-4 talks about liability issues and trespass but I think they are scare tactics toward illegal enforcement. Generally, resolutions don't have the same force of law as a ordinance which also has penalties attached so it amounts to a "I wish you wouldn't do this" rule and not really enforceable with a penalty.
I have been exposed to other issues like this for 60 years where property owners try to prevent sportsmen from water access in my home state of Michigan. Similar issues are found with access to beach fronts by property owners who believe they own the ocean. Although the fights have been long and drawn out, it appears that access to the public prevails in the end. I also believe there are access and protections offered to me throughout the purchase of the Florida fishing license.
There is a District Board meeting March 9, 2016 concerning these issues and I want to ask if anybody on this site can offer case history that would be of use to support continued public access to waterways in our area.
Zeno Potas

Replies

• Turner River TerrorTurner River Terror Posts: 9,676 Admiral
    I would think if you were fishing from a boat , No problem.
    If the Water Management has an Easement ..then your not on Private Owners property.
    If your walking in someone's back yard and their Lot property line ends up at the bank , I'd say no unless ,said Boat.