Home Northeast (3 Forums) Northeast General Fishing & The Outdoors

Need help selecting a fishfinder / chart plotter

Looking to purchase a fishfinder/chartplotter for my 16 foot Hewes. I figured this would be the best place to get some advice since most people on here will be fishing the same areas as I will. I will be inshore 99% of the time so places like mayport inlet, little jetties, shallower areas in the ICW ect. Once and a while I might go offshore on a calm day and fish the beaches but I wont be heading out very deep in a boat like mine.

All that being said, what you do guys recommend. I really do not want to spend over $500 and would feel much more comfortable the closer I get to $300. I am a total newbie when it comes to fishfinders but I've been looking at the Garmin and Lowrance models. They have some with the smaller screens for around $300 but I don't know if that is too small.

Also, maybe a dumb question but how detailed are the maps on these things and are they really necessary for mainly inshore fishing?

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Replies

• OT275OT275 Posts: 84 Deckhand
    I'll have a Garmin 541 and transducer for sale after I up grade my electronics if you can wait until about June 5th or 6th.
  • BoattronicsBoattronics Posts: 5,221 Admiral
    In that price range you'll have the best luck with Garmin and Humminbird. Like the above poster, be on the look out for a larger used unit! I would hold out and get at least a 5" screen like his 541 or bigger.... things get too hard too see any smaller, especially in the sunlight glare.

If you decide to buy new let me know which ones you like and I can give you pros and cons, and save you a chunk off retail when you make your decision. The West Marine @ Town Center has the best selection to get your fingers on and see which ones stand out in your price range.
    Tony Eden-