Home Northwest General Fishing & The Outdoors

Garden bed at the new house

At the old house, we had raised beds that didn't work very well. Limited access issues.

At the new house, I have tilled up the only available piece of halfway flat ground, an old solid red clay logging road leading into the woods.

It measures 10ft x 50 ft. That's all the room I have. I have read all this stuff about amending clay. I also read an extension agents paper saying that is a bunch of hooey--to just start planting in it and till every season. Should I amend or not? Personally, I lean toward the extension agent=less work.

Also, I can get 3 long rows with room to get a tiller down. or I can go sideways and get a bunch more 10 feet long. Does it matter?

Replies

• micci_manmicci_man Somewhere in FLPosts: 14,641 AG
    Lots of experienced gardeners on here for sure and I'm still learning. I guess I have good soil because all I ever do is add fert (10-10-10) and plant. I do add leaves and wood chips from time to time that compost in as I till. But,,,, many will say don't do anything until a soil sample is done and the soil amended per sample results. Those folks always have great looking gardens...

How much sun does that little strip get during the day? My garden is 30' wide and 45' long and only the middle 10' (running N & S ) gets sun 4-5 hrs a day. The trees are shading out the edges but I still get by for now with using all of the space. Gotta go now but I'll report back later. Maybe woodsrunner and Pineywoods qill chime in.

The gardening section on GON.com forum is a wealth of knowledge as well.
    Common Sense can't be bought, taught or gifted, yet it is one of the few things in life that is free, and most refuse to even attempt to possess it. - Miguel Cervantes
  • BodineBodine Posts: 3,028 Captain
    With solid red clay, I would add some peat moss , a little sand and some sort of manure/compost.
    It will loosen it up, help it drain, and add nutrients.