Cold Weather Reds?

So this is my first year fishing for reds. You guys helped me out bigtime catching them durning the summer months so I figured I would ask for yall's input on how you guys would approch them this sunday after the cold front? Thanks!

Replies

• Jim311Jim311 Posts: 4,891 Captain
    I don't think there is ever tougher fishing than during the beginning of a cold snap. You're likely to get skunked. I'd work the outside edges of the islands, points, and oyster bars. It's not cold enough to push them deep into the creeks yet I don't think.
  • rangerjasonrangerjason Posts: 35 Deckhand
    Thanks for the info, I'm gonna give it a go Sunday
  • TideUpTideUp Posts: 126 Officer
    When the cold snaps do start hitting though, watch your barometer. If the numbers are getting lower (day after a cold front), don't bother going unless you want a cold boat ride. If the numbers are rising or staying steady give it a whirl! We have lots of creeks and rivers in our fisheries giving the Reds plenty opportunity to go hide in deeper (Warmer) holes! The hard part is getting in them without losing a prop or scraping off a lot of gel coat. That's why Jim has an advantage with that tin boat now in winter :wink
    Gainesville Kayak Anglers Club http://www.gkaclub.com
    I have banged my share of gear up on rocky bottoms and oyster bars, that's for sure.
  • ANUMBER1ANUMBER1 Posts: 9,303 Admiral
    TideUp wrote: »
    When the cold snaps do start hitting though, watch your barometer. If the numbers are getting lower (day after a cold front), don't bother going unless you want a cold boat ride. If the numbers are rising or staying steady give it a whirl! We have lots of creeks and rivers in our fisheries giving the Reds plenty opportunity to go hide in deeper (Warmer) holes! The hard part is getting in them without losing a prop or scraping off a lot of gel coat. That's why Jim has an advantage with that tin boat now in winter :wink