Total Newbie To Fly Fishing, Saltwater Rod/ Reel Advice

BasstarBasstar Posts: 513 Officer
Long time freshwater angler, a few trips of experience inshore wading saltwater with spinning tackle, and have just recently purchased my first new fly rod. My fly rod/ reel combo is a simple #6 TFO rod, paired with a BPS White River reel and at this point it seems to be much more capable than my abilities.

I am considering adding a saltwater combo to my fishing tackle and would like some advice on what would be a good bang for the buck rod, reel, and line. I would be using this from the shore as well as wading and am thinking #9 weight based on what I've read and heard so far.

I don't care about fancy bells and whistles and could care less about impressing anyone with a name. My goal is to spend enough to get good quality which will last and will hold up to the saltwater use, but do not want to overspend just to gain a bit of flash or feature that I truly do not need.

Any advice, opinions, and product information is appreciated.

Thanks

Replies

• Reel AggressiveReel Aggressive Posts: 261 Officer
    Have you looked at Allen Rods & Reels? They make a solid product for very reasonable price.
  • BasstarBasstar Posts: 513 Officer
    Two more questions:

My current #6 rod is a (4) piece blank which is excellent for transporting but I notice some of the #8 and #9 rods are (2) piece. Although a little more difficult to transport, is the (2) piece suggested for strength and durability?

Secondly, the leaders I use on my freshwater set ups are either simply straight line or a tapered leader, dependent upon the lure and water conditions. When I am inshore saltwater fishing with spinning tackle and light mono on the other hand, I use a heavier leader to avoid my line being cut or bitten by the fish's teeth.

With saltwater fly fishing, what types of leaders are suggested and is it recommended to tie a small section of heavier leader material as a tippet?

Again thanks.