Home South General Fishing & The Outdoors

Trout in FL Bay?

Hey Guys,

The wifey and I are going down to Islamorada for the holiday weekend. Looks like it's gonna be a little bumpier than we like offshore, so we'll likely target trout around Sprigger. It's something we only do a couple of times a year, so I thought I'd check in with our inshore guys. Anyone got any useful intel for this?

Thanks in advance for your help!
Catch 'em up!

Nick

Replies

• Catch-N-RunCatch-N-Run Posts: 178 Officer
    Live Shrimp! Look for semi clear/murky water. fish the grass beds for trout. I use artificial and i stay in 3-5 ft of water. Hope this helps. I am not a pro but this is how i catch the trout. Goodluck
  • nbseafrognbseafrog Posts: 521 Officer
    Thanks Catch!

I'm certainly no pro either. Only do this a couple times a year and only started last year. We've actually had better luck catching more trout and fewer catfish using Gulp shrimp under a Cajun Thunder. I think more is because the cats aren't beating the trout to the bait since it's up off the bottom.

Getting ready to pull away now for Islamorada. Can't wait! Here's how we did last Labor Day weekend...

I will be checking back in on this thread down there, so if anyone has any real time intel for the Sprigger Bank area, please share. Thanks! Nick
    Catch 'em up!

Nick
  • Catch-N-RunCatch-N-Run Posts: 178 Officer
    Nice, How did you trip go? Update?
  • nbseafrognbseafrog Posts: 521 Officer
    Hey Guys, sorry for the late response...