Stalking technique or fishing location more important?

Jmt2404Jmt2404 Posts: 188 Officer
Hey everyone I was hoping to get a discussion going about spearfishing techniques and try and revive this section of the FS forum. I have been diving for just under 2 years here on the southeast section and haven't gotten those quality fish that I constantly see people bringing in online.. I am a beach diver with a paddle board and freediver so I'm limited to the areas I can go to.

So my question is;

Does it take a better stalking/swimming technique to get the good fish (grouper, big snapper and other tasty fishes) or is it completely dependent on the location? Any other thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Replies

• TrollaltdeleteTrollaltdelete Posts: 660 Officer
    I think it is both. You can stalk all you want, wear light blue camo, move very slowly, have the gun ready, finger on the trigger, ready to pull, but if you are in the swimming pool, you won't be shooting any groupers.:wink

So you need to be where the fish are. When I am looking for groupers, I look for areas where there are lots of grunts or lane snappers. As I am swimming along a reef, I look for the areas where there are lots of little fish. Once I find the little fish, the bigger ones seem to be there also.

I try to lay very quietly on the bottom and usually, more times than not, I will have a hog or snapper swim up to me to see what I am doing there. The little hogs are the most curious, but even the bigger ones will come into range if you stay long enough.

I find that when there are others around, and they are thrashing their flippers or not being very stealthy, I see the bigger groupers haul butt away. It is hard to get the bigger ones, as they are skittish and tend to flee when the sense a diver. That is probably why they are bigger, but if you are very very quiet, and ready to shoot, you can get them.