Reef questions!

Okay so is there any website that I can locate reefs,wrecks, structure etc from public numbers. I want something like some kind of chart so I know which one are close to me . In example I live in north beach . And like most of you know I just purchased a kayak so I wanna see if there are any public number reefs close by that I can just launch my yak in the water and I can peddle to . I live on 80ish and Collins. And I'll like some kind of wreck that less then a mile out. Also maybe any kind on the bay side that are public . Also how do you read them number to locate them. Sorry I know I'm a noob to all this and I plan on buying a gps just not right this second. For now I'm gonna just buy navionics on my iPhone
Hobie outback

Replies

• uno--masuno--mas Posts: 346 Officer
    google your county and 'reefs'. each county has an artificial reef program, and there are websites with the public numbers.
    most all the numbers are going to be lat/lon, so without a GPS its going to be dead-reckoning, and could be a challenge.
    if you find a wreck you want to check out in the area you are looking at, you can go on a saturday and there 'might' be a boat or two already fishing it, and then you'll know right where it is.
    FYI, you certainly don't have to be right on a wreck to find fish. ask any diver and they will tell you that 75% of the fish are 'near' the wreck, but not 'on' the wreck. even groupers, which everyone thinks live deep in holes, like to get out and swim around in their front yard instead of being stuck in the house all the time.
    another option is just heading out to the tackle shop and 'studying' the paper charts they have there.

cheers
    drew
    Cathedra Mea, Regulae Meae.
  • sammy2189sammy2189 Posts: 998 Officer