Home Ten Thousand Islands General Fishing & The Outdoors

Help repeal the Ban on camp fires!

Hey Guys, My name is Robert Pelot. I am an Analytical Chemist from Bradenton florida. I often go down to the 10K for some nice fishing and canoeing in the winter time. One thing that has always irked me was the ban of Woodburning grills and fires. I understand the reason why they dont want them. The pete. But the thing is, people have been having fires there for thousands of years and they didnt burn them down. I have done it. If you are a halfway intelligent human being, you will be just fine, and you wont burn the place down.

I met a man down there one time. An old-timer, who knew Mr. Darwin. His name is John York. He is a nuclear engineer from Westinghouse. He has been going to the islands for 40 years or more. He has a petition. I signed it, and got others to as well. The National Parks service told us that the main reason that they dont want fires is because the ash will increase the pH of he water to dangerous levels. Thats right. The ash from a few fires will change the pH of a massive body of water with high tidal flow.

Ash from fires contains potassium carbonate, this is what raises the pH. However... the everglades is made of a giant deposit of this material. Its called Limestone. There is already tons of it in the water, the addition of 500 small fires per year is not going to change a thing. So I took a pH meter out there and took readings at several campsites, as well as places far from the sites. The pH is fairly constant throughout the area and is pretty high allready, thanks to the Limestone.

Well I ask you this. Do you think that the rule is a good idea? If not, then sign the petition. Why wont they tell us the real reason they dont want any fires? The real reason is they dont trust us to be intelligent human beings.

312566_243596969019093_100001063766209_709015_978386596_n.jpg
295941_243595985685858_100001063766209_708987_6675955_n.jpg

Replies