Water in fuel debate data

mbowersmbowers Posts: 490 Deckhand
I'm an engineer and would much rather settle a debate with data than opinion. Please post your factual experiences with hull year, fuel vent type, any water in your fuel and what you were doing when water entered. Offshore experience good or bad is most helpful as I think the boat is dry enough inshore you can drive around without the fuel cap and not have problems but all information has value.

mbowers 2001 hull Perko vented fill: boat purchased in 2004 at 340 hrs. Engine died on second voyage after purchase with water in fuel. Boat had been sea trialed offshore two days before at previous owner insistence to demo excellent rough water ability. :) Switched to Perko riser ring immediately. No more water in fuel but engine died of rusty bearings at the young age of 1100 hrs.

mbowers 2012 hull Attwood vented fill: no water until first rough offshore trip at 134hrs. Engine died and required $1200 repairs so far. Will be installing riser ring.

I think we can also add Last-Cast, Egrets Landing, Saltwater Junkie with sealed fill and separate vent: no problems with water in fuel and lots of rough water experience. Monoman with GEM vented fill: water in fuel when boat is uncovered in driveway. Installed riser ring and no more water in fuel.

Hrs run per individual
vented fill no water
flats boy 100 est
renegade69 300
flatwaterwitch 100 est
91 tiger 100

vented fill water in fuel
mbowers 1200
monoman 300

separate vent no water
waldnerr 3000 est
egrets landing 3000 est
saltwater junkie 5000 est
last cast 3000 est

Replies

• FlatsBoyFlatsBoy Posts: 1,305 Officer
    None here so far. :Popcorn
  • polepositionpoleposition Posts: 1,052 Officer
    An engineer knows that uncontrolled "data" reported on a public forum is no way to end a debate. It may, however, be a convenient place to grind an axe. Or not.
  • mbowersmbowers Posts: 490 Deckhand