Everglades Backcountry Emergency Communication Ideas

Seeking a little input from you skiff owners as to what you have use for emergency communications (outside of an EPIRB and cell etc.) I don't have a radio mounted in my skiff, but always carry a cheap hand held radio. I know that it isn't 100% sufficient, and want to upgrade. I fish alone quite a bit, and push pretty deep into the park at times (most of the time).

I've been researching some better hand helds, and would like to solicit some ideas from some of you salty dogs. I am an electronics technician by trade, and have access/ability to modify a radio antenna in a pinch. Do some of you have hand helds with a detachable antenna you can run up on a push pole or stakeout pole to extend your range?

Replies

• P.cliffordP.clifford Posts: 226 Officer
    You can get a 6 W namebrand unit. Standard or ICOM are both good ones, I would get a water resistant if not a waterproof floating unit.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • BD27BD27 Posts: 1,179 Officer
    I am lucky to have a very good neighbor, I leave a float plan with him, where I am going and when I plan to be back. I have never had to use him , but you never no. I also have STS and cell phones, but you never know with electronics. I call him if plans change and let him know if I changed my plans. I also keep plenty of water on board (just in case)
  • piner_wahoopiner_wahoo Posts: 3,166 Captain
    rent a satphone- cheap and lo rates=talk anywhere on planet. hint: have solar charger
    28' SEA VEE BRAND NEW 200 SUZUKI's- LIVE BAIT OFFSHORE WRECKS DEEP DROP REEFS BACKCOUNTRY
    CUSTOM CHARTERS u pick the boat- Capt.Harlan Trammell
    American Allegiance Charters -LOWER KEYS BACKCOUNTRY FISHING,LOBSTER dives, fish the 33' WORLDCAT w/ AOK+Allegiance!
    your boat or mine, my spots+my gear, your fish.
    BIG WAHOO
    checkout our new website- http://www.american-allegiance-charters.com/