20 VS 30 pounds

what is the most versatile line poundage, 20 or 30 pound braid. Iam fishing for big snook, small tarpon, big reds and gator trout as well as some big largemouth bass on lake O.

Replies

• YaknMikeYaknMike Posts: 26 Greenhorn
    I'm new here, but I have a lot of experience fishing with bass and plenty on Okeechobee over the last several years. For Bass fishing alone, especially on the "O" I wouldn't go less than 30. Flippin' I use 50-65lb braid. On anything i'm casting like spinnerbaits and big swim baits I use 20lb. Crankbaits I use 12. I'm relatively limited in my saltwater experience, but i've been doing more of it and been using 20lb flurocarbon leaders tied to 30lb braid on spinning reels and it's been working pretty well for me. I know fishing the flats is a whole different beast and i'm trying to turbocharge my learning curve but I'd say go with 30lb and adjust your leader size in saltwater to fit your situation.
  • DragScreamerDragScreamer Posts: 1,475 Officer
    that's a big range you might want to consider two different rods
    Let's go fishing!
  • fishboyfishboy Posts: 1,326 Officer
    that's a big range you might want to consider two different rods

Follow this if you can, or get an extra spool for your reel and put 10lb braid on one for flats fishing and 30lb on the other for everything else... I use 10lb mono for just about everything..
  • johnDjohnD WC FLPosts: 6,401 Admiral
    Spinning or baitcaster ? If I had to pick, it would be 20 lb braid on the spinning gear. 50 lb on the baitcaster (not because you need 50 lb for LMB ,but it doesn't dig in the spool as bad).
    Just pointing out the obvious here , you'll need a lot more line capacity for tarpon , snook and reds than LMB.
  • LargeMouthBassAnglerLargeMouthBassAngler Posts: 136 Officer
    im one of those guys that likes to use 1 combo for everything, so thats why im asking whats more versatile. im thinking 30 but i want to get input from you guys.