What to buy ni 2 or 3 weight that is not super expensive

RStyleRStyle Posts: 1,323 Officer
A friend moved to Franklin North Carolina and has invited me to go do some fly fishing. I suspect that this will happen in the future a few times a year since he just retired and I may do the same soon

I have some experience with 8 and 9 weight for redfish , snook etc. (not that I have caught many).
I spent a significant fortune when I started fly fishing in salt water but do not want to spend a huge amount of money on this new endeavor which may happen once or twice a year

Scott and Sage rods are out of the range
Any fairly good or decent 2 or 3 weight rods in the 100-200 dollar range?

Thanks for any help

Replies

• Carl BlackledgeCarl Blackledge Posts: 674 Officer
    Check out ebay?
  • RStyleRStyle Posts: 1,323 Officer
    I have not
    Any particular brands?
  • redjimredjim Posts: 774 Officer
    Check out ebay?

Hi Carl

I have bought most all of my gear on ebay and come away with with some great deals. I have heard you mention that you shop there too. Could you tell please tell us some of the things to look out while shopping for good used high end gear?

Thanks, Jim
  • hooknsnookhooknsnook Posts: 62 Greenhorn
    you should check out cabelas ...redington CT CLASSICS they are on sale for 75.. great rod for the money I have a 8-6" 4wt and really like it..
  • Carl BlackledgeCarl Blackledge Posts: 674 Officer
    redjim wrote: »
    Hi Carl

I have bought most all of my gear on ebay and come away with with some great deals. I have heard you mention that you shop there too. Could you tell please tell us some of the things to look out while shopping for good used high end gear?

Thanks, Jim

Jim,

You have stated above " I have bought most all of my gear on ebay and come away with some great deals" It seems to me your already an expert.