Disturbing Lobstering trend in the Keys

HoowasherHoowasher Posts: 5 Greenhorn
I have been lobstering in the Lower Keys for almost 40 years. I miss the days before Loran and GPS. Now...everyone has their spots, and your spots and my spots... OK I can deal with that. Since i usually skip mini-season, I do not see a lot of problems with crowding or encroachment so to speak. HOWEVER- this year and last year I am noticing an increase in a process Ill call "Staking a CLaim."

I am witnessing boats arriving at a spot (Obviously aGPS location) and then going out a couple hundred yards and dropping a bouy and DIVE FLAG. Go another couple hundred....drop another bouy and DIVE FLAG. Seen as many as four DIVE FLAGS out with NO DIVERS the of course the boat sets up.

Besides being Piggish about the lobstering grounds, It can be a huge inconvenience when this is done in some of the tight channels on the back side. Most problematic is that if this process continues, everyone will start assuming that many flags do not represent an actual diver below.

Like most people I respect the dive flag, slow down, look for divers and respect others on their dive spots ot on miy spot if they got there first. Staking a claim is wrong on many levels.

Since we demand so much respect for dive flags and FWC enforces their use, size, stiffner etc... can they enforce the misuse of the dive flag like this? Maybe they have. Id love to hear if others are witnessing this trend and what are their thoughts.

Replies

• Capt_GerryCapt_Gerry Posts: 173 Officer
    Haven't seen this yet up here in Saint Lucie/Martin counties. It makes no difference to me if there is one flag or ten. I will respect their flag and everyone's safety but just because there is a flag there doesn't mean others can't dive there also. There is no staking an area or claiming a reef for bugs. Either they share or get mad it's their choice but I'm diving on a public spot if they like it ore not.
    Changin' Latitudes