Skip to main content
Home Fly Fishing

Casting Help Please

redjimredjim Senior MemberPosts: 774 Officer
Good Morning

I have been throwing the long stick for about 4 months now and have a BIG problem with not having a straight line path. I have no problem catching a mess of fish providing there is not any wind and fish are within in 45 feet :) to accommodate my big wide open wavy loop. It is not pretty.

I can not seem to keep my hand going in a line straight line resulting in a convex in my casting stroke. I have been attempting drills for the past 5 weeks to reteach my muscles. I have given up fly casting in an attempt to teach myself to make it straighter but not making much progress.

Might anyone know a person that could help me out? I live in Rockledge and am not afraid to drive for help and do expect to pay someone accordingly for their time.

Thank you, Jim

Replies

• Permit RatPermit Rat Senior Member Stuart, Fla., Veracruz, Mx.Posts: 2,283 Captain
    I don't know anyone in Rockledge, and you are very correct in not asking for specific help here.....you need to have a competent caster/instructor watching you. I and several others here can diagnose the problem(s) as you described them; both are pretty straightforward. You need a coach to help you with your power stroke, which is way too long. I will only say that it appears you have become another victim of "video-itis." A lot of people try to get casting basics from the myriad fly casting videos that are out there. You see a competent caster make a cast where the rod moves from almost the 9 o'clock position, to almost the 3 o'clock position, behind him. What you DO NOT see, is that somewhere in there, is a "power stroke." It is very brief, but most of the line speed is developed here. The rest of what you see in the cast, is just follow-through. You really need someone watching you, to get the basics down, before your bad habits get worse.