Lobster Mini Season

waterskunkwaterskunk Posts: 53 Deckhand
Hello All

I'm new to the idea of lobstering and I'd like to ask for a little advance for this 2013 mini season coming up. I'm a fort Myers local with a pathfinder 17t, (calm water boat) looking for some places to try my luck in the fl keys. I'm very aware that asking for personal spot is off limit and would never ask anyone to give up hard earned lobster spots. And I'm aware of the habitat to look for which hold lobster.
What I'm really asking about is which island in the keys seems to hold the most bugs. And which side (gulf or Atlantic) seems to produce most. I'll be snorkeling with my wife with a max depth of around 25 feet
And is it true that bully nets are off limits during mini season in Monroe?
Any advice would be great guys, and if anyone plans to visit fort Myers for some inshore fishing please feel free to use me for questions.
Thanks again
Waterskunk

Replies

• TrollaltdeleteTrollaltdelete Posts: 661 Officer
    waterskunk wrote: »
    Hello All

I'm new to the idea of lobstering and I'd like to ask for a little advance for this 2013 mini season coming up. I'm a fort Myers local with a pathfinder 17t, (calm water boat) looking for some places to try my luck in the fl keys. I'm very aware that asking for personal spot is off limit and would never ask anyone to give up hard earned lobster spots. And I'm aware of the habitat to look for which hold lobster.
    What I'm really asking about is which island in the keys seems to hold the most bugs. And which side (gulf or Atlantic) seems to produce most. I'll be snorkeling with my wife with a max depth of around 25 feet
    And is it true that bully nets are off limits during mini season in Monroe?
    Any advice would be great guys, and if anyone plans to visit fort Myers for some inshore fishing please feel free to use me for questions.
    Thanks again
    Waterskunk