Best grease for spinning reels?

Super lube comes off as good body, but too sticky.

I've got this berkley grease that's very slick, but it has no body

What's a really good, saltwater friendly grease that can be bought in small quantities?

Thanks.
cuda-title2_zpsb81e4f1d.jpg
greggl wrote: »
Strive for self-sacrificial levels of empathy and sympathy. We are only set free by becoming the scapegoat, or sin eater', rather than picking a target and 'throwing stones.'
nuevowavo wrote:
Think you're pretty clever? Think again. Time for a break.
:rotflmao

Replies

• Jetex2801Jetex2801 Posts: 540 Officer
    I know a couple of people who swear by cal's grease for their spinners, defined small quantities.
  • HookedHooked Posts: 391 Officer
    Reel Butter has served me very well for the past few years
  • lemaymiamilemaymiami Posts: 3,327 Captain
    I've been repairing my own and customer's gear for many years now and use two types of grease when it's appropriate... For drag washers only it's Shimano's drag grease (part #DRAGGR), but Cal's is probably just as good and certainly cheaper (you get more....). For gears and such all I ever use is Kendall GT High temp grease. Any auto store should have it, and a can (about 1/2 pint) is enough to last you for years and years. The stuff is blue in color and works very well for conventional or spinning reels. By the way the only oils I ever use are good quality gun oils like Break Free or Gunslik. Avoid "Three in One" oil like the plague since it will turn into glue or varnish as it gets old on your reel parts.... Can't remember how many reels I've repaired just by removing old 3 in 1 oil residue....
    Tight Lines
    Bob LeMay
    (954) 435-5666
  • Panhandler80Panhandler80 Posts: 8,028 Moderator
    Yall grease your reels? Doesn't that make them hard to grab?
    "Whatcha doin' in my waters?"
  • fish_stixfish_stix Posts: 1,312 Officer
    Nah! Just don't grease the handle!