Need advice! Please help!

Florida Sportsman

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need advice! Please help!

I'm new to fly fishing and need some advice. I was given a 9wt rod for christmas that has floating line. I tend to use this in the bay area in North Miami targeting trout. I've read about some people using intermediate and sinking lines and I wasn't sure if I would be better off switching over to something different. I do get offshore and wouldn't mind being able to fly fish out there.
    I'm asking what type of line would be best for me to use in addition to advice on leaders/tippet.
    Thanks for any help!

Always good (eccential actually) to have sinking lines in addition to floating. A clear intermediate and a fast sinking will allow you to fish more effectively in all the conditions and environments you encounter, back country, near shore and offshore. Spare spools for the reel you have will make it easy switching between the lines you want to use. If the fish aren't on the surface, floating line is basically useless in water deeper than ten feet....a sinking line will out fish, (catch) a floater 10 - 1...
    If you'd like to give me a call, I'd be happy to give you some tips on the whole thing
    Capt. Scott Hamilton 561-745-2402, 6pm - 9pm
    http://www.flyfishingextremes.com

Banned
    Never leave home without it. That is a philosophy that most fly Fisherman will follow and will carry at least those 3 lines, Floating, Intermediate and Sinking.

This response will most likely get a few responses that will say all you need is a floating line and that combined with weighted flies is all you need. Always be prepared and the most realistic way to do that is use the proper tool for the job. I use a sling pack on the salt and I always carries at least 3 lines, I have 5 lines that I use and I have ordered a larger Sling Pack to allow me carry all five.