The guy wasn't there just for the boat ride; the article states that he was the first mate. Tournaments have rules so everyone has a level playing field. Also, the article states that neither the Captain nor the mate attended the pre-tournament meeting. These guys set themselves up for failure and can't blame it on anyone else or the rules.
If the 1st mate fishing a MILLION dollar tournament is ignorant enough to not have a fishing license, then no, you don't get to win you are outside of the rules and the law. You were ACTIVELY FISHING WITHOUT a license. Had it come to light without a catch they should have been disqualified the same way. It's illegal.