Basketball stat question.

Florida Sportsman

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Regional Administrator Triple Threat 33T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Port Canaveral
    Posts
    14,969

    Basketball stat question.

    Player takes a shot and gets fouled in the process and misses the shot. Does that count as a shot attempt?
    "Lord, hold our troops in your loving hands. Protect them as they protect us. Bless them and their families for the selfless acts they perform for us in our time of need. Amen."

  2. #2
    Senior Member Larry Mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    3,889
    In the NCAA, that is not considered an attempted shot statistically .

  3. #3
    Senior Member Cane Pole's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Stuart, FLA
    Posts
    7,747
    of course not!
    http://i81.photobucket.com/albums/j216/canepole34996/teams.jpg

  4. #4
    Senior Member ontheedge5658's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    orlando
    Posts
    2,529
    yes it a shot.

  5. #5
    Regional Administrator Triple Threat 33T's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Port Canaveral
    Posts
    14,969
    So far, aside from the posts here, I've had a retired NBA player tell me no and a JV and Varsity coach tell me yes.
    "Lord, hold our troops in your loving hands. Protect them as they protect us. Bless them and their families for the selfless acts they perform for us in our time of need. Amen."

  6. #6
    Senior Member Larry Mac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    3,889
    Quote Originally Posted by Triple Threat 33T View Post
    So far, aside from the posts here, I've had a retired NBA player tell me no and a JV and Varsity coach tell me yes.
    Well to be honest I thought I knew but wasn't 100% sure-- basketball was never my sport although I played some when bored. I did look up the question on some site that was connected with college basketball, hence my answer attached to NCAA rules.

  7. #7
    Senior Member SLW210's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Central FL
    Posts
    1,996
    No, it does not count as an attempt.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •