Costa Del Mar

Florida Sportsman

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Costa Del Mar

Costa Del Mar

So I have been fishing Florida for about 10 years now and have alway gone with cheap polarized sunglasses. A friend of mine finally convinced me to buy into a quality pair and I went with Costa's. I fell in love with these shades and wore the for everything from fishing, to hunting, to daily driving and more. I even convinced some mutual friends (hunters, fishermen, biologists, surveyors, etc.) to trade up to Costa's. Recently my Costa Del Mar Maya 11's with the 580 lenses met with an unfortunate fate and the arms broke off. Thank goodness for that Lifetime Waranty, or so I thought. After dropping $50 for repairs and $10 for shipping, my Maya's were returned to me. Upon inspection they looked very different. They fit MUCH narrower and had a different hinge. They were so narrow that this new hinge cut into the sides of my temples. On top of that, they had a stress fracture under the left lense, the lense had some small nicks in it, and one of the hinges was defected! I was shocked and pretty upset. I called Costa and told them all of the shortcomings. I had to send them back in, and when I got them back, the frame style was still completely different and too narrow for my face! Costa was nice enough to refund the cost of the repairs...

Here are the issues that bother me the most:
    1. Upon inquiring at both Bass Pro and Gander Mountain, I was told that Costa Del Mar had changed several styles of frames to accomodate a stronger hinge. The Rep from Costa told me both over the phone and in an e-mail that they had not changed and was a little condescending over the phone.

2. If you do change a product like that, why not let me know before going through the repairs??? I would have rather super-glued my Maya's back together than had Costa "fix" them!