Got my first bow; now what? (turkey/hog/deer in SFL public land)
REPORTSREGIONSFORECASTPHOTOSBOATINGHOW-TOSPORTFISHGEARVIDEOSSTORE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Got my first bow; now what? (turkey/hog/deer in SFL public land)

I've got my safety course done, license, and permits. I picked up a Cabela's Fortitude compound bow, and a combo of arrows, field points, and mechanical release. Once it's delivered, I'm going to go to the Bass Pro in Dania Beach to get it set up for me. I'm cross-eye dominant, so I'm going to have to learn how to shoot left handed (I have some archery experience, but longbows, so I've never had to use a sight). I'll start putting together a target to get some steady shooting practice in.

My goal is to be ready to go after spring turkey and wild hog (deer next season). But here's where I'm trying to figure out what to do next. I don't have an atv or 4x4, so I'm going to be limited in gear to what I can comfortably carry. I'm not sure where to start with decoys, calls, scents/blockers, camo, etc. etc. I'm looking for any tips on what kind of gear, skills, and knowledge I need between now and March.

To put it shortly, I don't know what I don't know. What should I be asking/thinking about?

I've never hunted off a vehicle, and you're not going to need anything you can't carry in. For turkey hunting, I'd start by:
    -If you haven't already, get a call and start practicing now. Box calls and push calls are easy enough to figure out. I think you still have time to learn a mouth call, too. Learn a basic yelp and cut. That will be good enough to earn admission to the show this year. Listen to call sequences on the internet. Practice. Practice. Practice. Also read up on calling strategies. There are times to call the bird and times to shut up. It's a tough thing to figure out, and something you can only learn through trial and error.